Good Customer Service + Responsiveness = Happy Client

This was me trying to get the Home Depot Manager last Thursday morning.

I know that when I have a client who emails me, I respond. Quickly.

If I have a school board constituent who calls me, I try to get back to them. Promptly.

I don’t always have the answer. In fact, I rarely have the answer right then and there. But I pick up the phone, or I respond to the email, or IM, or text or whatever their communication method of choice is so I can get them what they need. It may not be then, but I will let them know when and on what date I can have the answer for them.

I don’t have to go to every meeting. I don’t have to have everything one hundred percent perfect. But I have to work hard, I have to try to get the correct information clients need quickly and I have to be NICE to people who want to pay me.  It’s pretty basic.

But other vendors whom I have encountered don’t always feel that way.

Whether it’ s the staff at Staples who are always MIA, or the manager at the Home Depot who will not call me back when they install the carpet wrong. I want to yell at them: I HAVE MONEY TO SPEND IN YOUR STORE BECAUSE I NEED SOMETHING. Be nice to me.

AT&T gets it. Apple certainly gets it.  JCrew definitely gets it as do a lot of online stores. What is so hard? This is just good PR, good communications strategy, and a guaranteed way to get people to like you.

Is “in person”customer service just going away, like print magazines, or will it simply differentiate the winners from the losers?

One Response

  1. I must agree, Mimi – with your comment regarding your own “customer service.” You were the first to respond to a school concern that I had back in late June (followed by Helen Morris and Blanche Maness). That spoke volumes to me! ~ I’m proud to have you representing us as a School Board Member in District A. You really do care about your constituents and it shows! ~ Thank you for your excellent service!

Leave a Reply

