This Kind of Ink Gets You Noticed #2

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how people with Huntington’s Disease were getting tattoos, partly to help raise awareness about the disease.

Laura Q. of Massachusetts read my post and shared a photo of her own HD tattoo on her wrist (at right).  “Yay!!!,” Laura wrote.  “I am in this club!! So cool.”

There must be more!

Do you have a disease-related tattoo? Surely this can’t be just an HD thing!  If so, please let me know and send me a picture. I think this could be the coolest newspaper or magazine story.

6 Responses

  1. So honored Joe, thanks!

  2. my friend Adrienne also has that same HD tattoo that she got awhile back. I have one on my foot that means hope for HD

  3. i have a friend who just got a breast cancer awareness tattoo.

  4. Funnily enough, I have a neuron tattoo to represent the problems that have been ongoing with my Epilepsy. It’s big, and on my right side. It reminds me (and only me) of the pain I’ve been through recently!

    • I was wondering if I was ever going to find someone with an epilepsy tattoo! Did you read the article about the HD tattoos? I think it’s wild. People with certain disease seem more inclined to get tats. I’ve yet to figure it out. Will you send me a JPG impage of your tattoo and let me share it on this website and in class (I teach at Georgetown)? I’d like to see if there are more of you out there! Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

