• Blog Stats

    • 60,650 visitors
  • Categories

A 1977 Commercial Lives On….

My daughters met a couple kids at the beach when we were on vacation.  The older, a girl, taught them a hand clapping game.  But instead of singing the familar “Miss Mary Mack,” the clapping was done to the tune and words of an old Dr. Pepper television commercial (“I’m a Pepper”).

I’ve since been thinking about how a 30+ year old commercial, which probably has not aired in years, can live on in childhood games like this.  Did it happen naturally?  Did the Dr. Pepper company create the game and spread it among our children?  Or is there something else going on? All I know is that the folks at Dr. Pepper have succeeded.

Here’s the original video….

And here’s a video of my daughters performing the song…

One Response

  1. […] I first wrote about the Dr. Pepper Handclapping game, I marveled about the commercial.  How could the lyrics of a 1970s television commercial live […]

Leave a comment